United We Spy Book Review

Title: United We Spy (Gallagher Girls Book 6)

Author: Ally Carter

Release Date: September 17, 2013

Format: Hardcover

Synopsis: Reasons to Continue Reading this Series (A list by Jacqueline) 1. Life in spy school isn’t exactly a walk in the park (unless they take a walk to a park). 2. Cammie and her friends are back and ready to jump right into the fray. 3. More spying, more action, and a progressively darker plot line. 4. Graduating high school while trying to stop a top secret terrorist organization and, oh, did I mention kissing?

Trailer: *Note: This trailer was made by the publisher.*


Review: While I have always been a fan of Ally Carter’s Heist Society series, Gallager Girls and I have had somewhat of a rocky past. After book one I was hesitant to read on, (because the first book was to cutesy for my taste) but goodness am I glad that I did. 

Like the previous books, United We Spy was just the slightest tinge more violent than the preceding one. Had I been told while reading book one that one of characters would kill a man later on in the series would I have believed them? Short answer: no, absolutely not.

I loved the way that the romance in this series was there for those who wanted it but was not all consuming for those who didn’t. I enjoyed the way this book jumped right into the fray without an instant for readers to catch their breath. Of course it should also be noted that this made it a little more difficult for those who had not just finished reading the previous book, but that was a detail of minor concern.

I would have preferred a greater sense of closure by having some of the characters from book one make an appearance, but as I’ve already mentioned book one was not my favorite book in this series so that wasn’t really much of an issue. This book was fun and fast paced. It was a pleasure visiting the Gallagher Acadamy. I was sad to see it end but ultimately satisfied.

Rating/Recommendations: I give this book a five in five rating because I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s difficult to keep a series interesting for six books but Ally Carter managed. I highly recommend this book to fans of this series. However, it should be noted that this series is on the girly side of fiction, so I recommend that any boys interested in Ms. Carter’s work try the Heist Society series instead.

five blue jays

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

