Post NaNoWriMo/November 2015 Wrap-up

Nano 2015 Chart

I technically didn’t win NaNoWriMo, but did finish my first draft. This was my original goal for the month, so I’m satisfied. I also managed to keep up with the progress bar for the first fifteen days as shown above. Considering this was my first semester in college, I’m surprised I managed to keep up for so long.

The reason this draft was so short is in part because my first drafts are very underwritten, and also because I was writing middle grade. My November project follows twelve-year-old Rebah who has grown up to believe she is a robot, and has never seen another human-being.

Reading

I didn’t read much this month because I was so busy writing. I’m actually surprised I found any time to read at all.

Short Synopsis: In this futuristic society children are raised to be turned into horrific “creatures” on their fourteenth birthdays.

Thoughts:  I’ve read many of Garth Nix’s books. As always there was unique world building, but in this case the execution left something to be desired. I never felt entirely invested in the characters and the story.

Rating: 3 blue jays

Short Synopsis: Book six in a series about aliens blending in on Earth while other aliens try to invade.

Thoughts: These books are very addictive. Normally, I would have stopped reading a series I was having this level of enjoyment of, but I just feel too much urge to find out what happens next. That doesn’t mean I’m beyond skimming, though.

I had some issues with plot holes in previous books that were solved in this one. (*book 1 minor spoilers* How were they planning to repopulate a planet with only nine people left?)

Rating: 

3 blue jays

Short Synopsis: Four children summon ancient beasts of legend though a ritual that binds a human and an animal.

Thoughts: Each book in this series is written by a different author, many of them well known. I’m interested to see how the series will progress through each change in writer. This book was a fun introduction to this fictional universe. I have recommended this series to my brother.

Rating: 

4 blue jays

2 thoughts on “Post NaNoWriMo/November 2015 Wrap-up

  1. Your NaNo story sounds awesome! I’d read about a girl who thought she was a robot no matter her age. Also, I loved Garth Nix when I was younger. I was addicted to the Abhorsen series. I haven’t really heard of any of his new books, and even though you didn’t like Shade’s Children the best, I may check it out for old times sake.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much!

      I don’t know if I’d call Shade’s Children new. It was published in 1997. None the less, I hope you like it if you do decide to pick it up. I’ll warn you though that it has a very different feel from most of his other works.

      Love the Abhorsen trilogy! Still haven’t read the new prequel book though. I need to. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

