2015 Reading Statistics

2015 was a really good reading year for me. In 2014 I didn’t feel entirely satisfied with the books I was reading, and struggled to chose favorites. In 2015 I tried to focus more on trying to love everything I read, and in this I was very successful. It’s the cause of my average rating of books I read in 2015 is 4.3 as opposed to the 3.99 average I had before the year started bring my overall rating to 4.04 on goodreads.

For this list I’m going to try to focus on statistics not already covered in goodreads gorgeous “my 2015 in books feature.”

Pages Read in 2015 Vs. 2014

2015 Statistics Pages

In spite of the fact that I read fewer books in total in 2015 than I did the previous year (73 as opposed to 77) I read slightly more pages in 2015, so I consider the amount read to be a success.

Age Groups

2015 Statistics Age Groups

These statistics surprised me a little, I’d thought I’d read more middle grade books. Next year I’d like to read more of those, but since most of the eight middle grade books I read were completed towards the end of the year I suspect this goal will be easily achieved.

This year I read far more adult fiction than I have in previous years though I do not have statistics to confirm this. I was always scared off by all of the content I was told there was in adult books. While most of the adult books I read this year were probably on the tamer side of the genre, I’m glad I decided to read more adult books as some of them are new favorites.

I’d like to see the division between intended audience look more evenly divided into thirds.

Genre

2015 Statistics Genres

This graph is a little disappointing, but not all that surprising. This year I discovered my love for epic fantasy novels, particularly those written by a certain author. Hence, the fantasy section being so large. I also decided to focus more on trying to read what I enjoy in 2015, and this graph reflects that. I think I’ll continue with this goal for next year and see how my preferences towards genres change naturally.

Where Books Took Place

2015 Statistics Locations

I made this chart because I was curious about where the books I was reading took place. I was expecting more books to take place in space, fictional locations, and North America. I was expecting fewer to take place in all of the slices not previously mentioned.

All but one of the books taking place in North America took place in the US or alternative worlds/future equivalents thereof. I considered Mexico/alternative future equivalents thereof as part of North America as that is where the book that did not take place in the US counted in that segment took place. A significant number of the books taking place in the section labeled “Europe/UK” took place in London.

It is interesting to note that I read more books that took place off of Earth than on it.

The reason the books do not add to the total number I read this year is because several books had significant portions taking place in more than one location.

Most Read Author

Brandon Sanderson: 12 Books

I’m actually surprised this number is this low. As many of the Sanderson books I read were over 600 pages, it feels like I read more than 12 of them in 2015.

2 thoughts on “2015 Reading Statistics

  1. Interesting stats. I didn’t know you read quite a lot of sci-fi. The Where Books Took Place stat is very interesting. I think mine will look pretty much the same since I read more epic fantasy than urban ones. Your stats are very detailed, I wish I have taken more time to tag my books properly on goodreads, it’ll make this whole recap business easier.

    Re: your last stat, technically WoR is 5 books (according to Brandon) so…

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

