February 2016 Wrap-Up

book signing books
Books I got signed at the book signing I went to this month. Note: the ARC in the image was acquired indirectly from someone who had received it from BEA, but gifted it to me when she learned about the signing. 

I read significantly less in February than I have in the last few months, but I’m okay with that. February was a much busier month for me, and I still managed to read some great books. I also managed to go to a book signing where I met Melissa Landers, Carey Corp, and Lorie Langdon. I rarely get a chance to go to book signings, so that was exciting.

Reading

25551332Short Synopsis: An anthology of short stories set in the Unwind universe.

Thoughts: Some of these stories were really good, but others I didn’t really care for. For this reason, I’m not going to give it a rating, but left me wanting more books set in this world.

 

 

 

 

 

18966806Short Synopsis: Final book in the red rising trilogy.

Thoughts: Of the books I read in February this was my favorite. See my full review here.

Rating: five blue jays

15704486Short Synopsis: Final book in Brandon Sanderson’s YA trilogy about superheros.

Thoughts: This was the series that introduced me to Brandon Sanderson’s work, and I am very grateful for that. All the same, I think the second book in this series was the best. The pacing at the end of this book felt very rushed though as a whole this was still a good, fun read.

Rating: 

4 blue jays

20764879Short Synopsis: Second book in a series about traveling between parallel world versions of London.

Thoughts: This was quite addictive, and I read it in an extremely short period of time. The character development was also great.

That said, I felt like the plot didn’t develop much in this book. I was hoping to learn a lot more about a certain parallel world than I got to. Hopefully more will be explained in the sequel.

Rating: 4 blue jays

7932356Short Synopsis: A group of rabbits struggle to survive surrounded by enemies who take the form of everything from foxes, to humans, to rabbits themselves.

Thoughts: Listened to this one in audio book format. My favorite part was the world building surrounding the rabbit’s culture, but I also felt like the world building sometimes went to far and took away from the story. This book probably could have been much shorter, but it was still very interesting to read from rabbits’ point of views.

Rating: 4 blue jays

Blogging

I didn’t blog much in February as what little free time I had went to reading new releases, but I did post two reviews.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 4.5 Stars

Morning Star by Pierce Brown 5 Stars

Writing

I finally started writing again in February. It went pretty slowly, but I did manage to make it past the 25,000 word mark in the story I’m rewriting. This month I’m participating in the twitter challenge #MarWritingChallenge. The official website for which is writingchallenge.org. The goal of which is to write at least 500 words every day in March. I apologize to my twitter followers about the sudden increase in writing tweets, but it’s been really motivating.

4 thoughts on “February 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Great to know Morning Star met your expectation. 🙂 Everyone seems to be very satisfied with the book so \o/
    Uh oh I am anxious about reading Calamity. Was going to haul it this month, but the reviews have not been as great as the rest of the series. Having mentioned that, Reckoners are my least favourite series by Sanderson (read: I still like it a lot) so I’m okay with not liking it as much. Haha.
    AGOS! I enjoyed it a lot. But then again, it went totally in the opposite direction to my expectation. I was expecting answers and it gave me none. However there’s still the final book to wrap it up and I’d be lying if I I said I didn’t love AGOS.
    I did notice more writing tweets from your account. 🙂 It’s quite amusing to know that your characters were not allowed to have pets etc. Good luck with the writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still liked Calamity a lot. Hence the fact that I read it in a day, but I can see why reviews might be the way they are for it.

      I was expecting AGOS to go in a different direction too, but yes, there is still plenty of time for explanation in the sequel.

      Thank you, and I’m glad to know that my tweets are amusing as opposed to annoying! My characters were allowed pets, but all but one lost that privilege. Now, no more pets for them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!