June 2016 Wrap-Up

Monthly Wrap-Up (1)

June was a busy month for me. I spent most of it traveling, and since I get motion sick there wasn’t much time for reading, but I did still manage to read four books and a novella.

Reading

25558608Short Synopsis: Sequel to An Ember in the Ashes.

Note: An advanced copy was provided by the publisher. Opinions are my own.

Thoughts: Like the first book my thoughts on the sequel are very mixed though positive overall. It is addictive while reading, but I didn’t find it to be as memorable as I like books to be. This is a good book for someone trying to get out of a reading slump.

Rating: 4 blue jays

13836Short Synopsis: An orphan with a gift for caring for animals must come to terms with the fact that she has special abilities.

Thoughts: Loved the atmosphere and magic system, but had a hard time fully immersing myself in the story and kept getting distracted.

Rating: 3.5 blue jays

25067046

Short Synopsis: Two young Imperial recruits follow very different paths. AKA Published Star Wars fanfiction.

Thoughts: The beginning felt very cheesy and a bit cliche, but the second half more than made up for it. It’s rare to find a story that follows a character who remains in a system deemed to be evil by society at large like this one.

Rating: 

4 blue jays

7824322Short Synopsis: A 15-year-old is abducted from her home and taken to a Soviet prison camp in Siberia during WWII.

Thoughts: This was a somewhat personal book for me since some of my relatives have narrowly escaped these camps. If they hadn’t I wouldn’t be here today.

I’m debating whether or not I’m willing to share my relatives’ full story publicly on the internet. Depending on my decision, I might write a full review.

Other than that though, this is a good historically accurate account, but it doesn’t have as much plot as I like in the books I read. However, it might be more shocking for someone who didn’t already know this happened.

Rating: 

3.5 blue jays

18075001Short Synopsis: Young orphan tries to find her way in  a world where she must hide her true nature.

Thoughts: I enjoyed the atmosphere and magic system introduced in this story, but ultimately thought it was too short for me to become entirely immersed in the story. However, this is not unusual for novellas.

Rating: 4 blue jays

6 thoughts on “June 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Lost Stars sounds interesting. I never heard about it before, but I do love the Force Awakens so I’ll try to get a copy of it.
    I’ve heard great things about Between Shades of Gray, perhaps because it was historically accurate. Such a shame if it’s lacking in plot though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you find a copy!

      I think the best thing about Between Shades of Gray is that it covers a topic in history largely overshadowed by the holocaust and what Japan was doing during WWII since the Soviets won the war, unlike Japan or Germany. For this reason, I feel it is a very important book, and when one of my relatives who the Soviets tried to take to these camps found out what I was reading they were very happy because they felt the suffering of people in these camps had been largely ignored by the global community.

      Between Shades of Gray was not, however, a fun book. I felt it sacrificed aspects of plot and pacing for accuracy and could tell it was a debut.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

