February and March 2017 Wrap-up

Reading

Between February and March, I read six books, a novella, and an anthology.

20518872

Title

The Three Body Problem

Short Synopsis

Science fiction novel featuring China’s cultural revolution, a high tech video game, and aliens.

Thoughts

Slower paced than I usually like, but I was intrigued enough to keep reading. It’s hard to see how all the different elements connect at first, but they come together by the end.

Rating

3.5 blue jays

27833670Title

Dark Matter

Short Synopsis

Man is abducted and wakes-up to discover everything in his life has changed.

Thoughts

Really enjoyed this, but there were some elements of the world-building that confused me and kept me from rating it higher.

Rating

4 blue jays

13364300

Title

Vortex (Tempest #2)

Short Synopsis

Sequel to Tempest.

Thoughts

I was in the mood for a book about time travel and read the first book a long time ago.

This book was fun, but some parts made me roll my eyes.

Rating

3 blue jays

30016

Title

The Naked Sun (Robot #2)

Short Synopsis

Classic science fiction novel in which Elijah Baley must travel to a distant world to solve a murder mystery.

Thoughts

I’d heard a lot about I, Robot before, but never knew the author had written a series set in the same universe. Even though this book is a product of its time, I enjoyed it much more than I expected.

Rating

4.5 blue jays

20938681

Title

Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Short Synopsis

Jonathan is a special seagull none of the other seagulls can understand.

Thoughts

Listened to this novella on a long road trip because one of my traveling companions wanted to. There were aspects I enjoyed, but it also falls pray to some tropes I’m not a fan of.

Rating

3 blue jays

41811

Title

The Caves of Steel (Robot #1)

Short Synopsis

Elijah Baley is recruited to solve the mystery behind the murder of an individual visiting Earth from another world.

Thoughts

Yes, I read these books out of order. I’m terrible, but these aren’t really books that need to be read in order. They still make sense if the second book is read first.

I enjoyed this book about as much as the second.

Rating

4.5 blue jays

28595941

Title

Arcanum Unbounded

Short Synopsis

A collection of Brandon Sanderson’s short fiction set in the Cosmere universe.

Thoughts

Short stories/novellas in this collection would get a rating between 3/5 and 5/5 if rated on an individual level. Works that would get a 5/5 or a 4.5/5 include: The Emperor’s SoulMistborn: Secret History, and Edgedancer.

Rating

4 blue jays

13642

Title

A Wizard of Earthsea

Short Synopsis

A young wizard grows into his powers.

Thoughts

I’ve heard about Ursula K. Le Guin for so long but hadn’t given her work a try. I decided to change that. I liked this book but didn’t love it.

Rating

3.5 blue jays

Writing

I wrote a couple short stories that I’m revising this month. They’re turning out better than expected.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

