Ten Fantasy Books I Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is “10 Books From X Genre That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR List.” I’ve chosen to discuss the 10 most recent fantasy additions to my to be read list on Goodreads.

Bluejay Feather

32051720

Wicked Like a Wildfire

Why I added it:

Okay, I’ll admit it. I added it because of the gorgeous cover. I also think it had something to do with an ARC review I read, but can’t remember for sure.

31563982

Whichwood

Why I added it:

I saw the beautiful cover on a tweet as I was scrolling through Twitter. I clicked to learn more and realized it was a companion novel to a book I’ve read, so I added it.

17675246

House of Purple Cedar

Why I added it:

I added this one because I saw it on a list recommending diverse books and thought the description sounded like something I might enjoy.

7507944

Akata Witch

Why I added it:

I added this book because of the same list as the book above. I was attracted to this one because it’s a fantasy novel set in Africa. I have not read many books set in Africa and enjoy reading about places that I haven’t been.

18947303

Traitor’s Blade

Why I added it:

I read a review, though I can’t remember whose, in which the reviewer stated they loved this book. The reviewer and I seemed to have similar reading taste, so I added it to my TBR.

28006120

The Ship of the Dead (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #3)

Why I added it:

I added this one because it’s the third book in a series that I’ve read the first two books of. . . . I really don’t think that requires further explanation.

29346880

The Gauntlet

Why I added it:

I added this book because the author was giving pep-talk emails for Camp NaNoWriMo last April. I clicked on the description of her novel. It sounded like something I might be interested in, so I added it to my TBR.

77197

Assassin’s Apprentice (The Farseer Trilogy #1)

Why I added it:

I added this one because I keep hearing such great things about Robin Hobb, but have never read any of her books.

29635545

The Dream-quest of Vellitt Boe

Why I added it:

I honestly don’t even remember adding this novella. I think it had something to do with it being nominated for an award.

28524058

Before She Ignites (The Fallen Isles #1)

Why I added it:

I follow the author on Twitter and have read one of her previous series.

Bluejay Feather

Are any of these books on your TBR list?

What books have you added to your TBR lately?

Anyone have a method other than Goodreads for keeping track of a TBR list?Β 

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

14 thoughts on “Ten Fantasy Books I Want to Read

  1. I haven’t heard of a few of those, but am always looking for new exciting reads πŸ™‚
    Robin Hobb’s books are amazing! I’ve read them all and loved every single one of them. ‘Assassin’s Apprentice’ is the perfect place to start as well πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, such beautiful covers. I only really liked the first book in the “Shatter Me” series, which seems to be an unpopular opinion. The first book in Mafi’s middle grade series didn’t blow me away, but it was fun, and I was willing to read the sequel.

      I hope I like The Gauntlet too!

      Like

  2. Good to know I am not the only fantasy fans that haven’t read any of Robin Hobb’s books. I keep meaning to start reading her works since last year, but alas it didn’t happen. This year though!

    Wicked Like A Wildfire does have a gorgeous cover. I think many people add it to their TBR for that reason. πŸ™‚ Well, that and the synopsis.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

