Novels With Real, Live Father Figures (i.e. Not dead ones)

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is a Father’s Day related freebie.

At first, I wanted to do my ten favorite Dad’s in fiction, but this proved difficult. Instead I’m focusing on books with Dads who have not not: a.) died or B.) abandoned/abused their children. It turns out they are rare indeed.

The first nine are my selection, and the tenth is a selection made by my father when I asked which book had is favorite father is from.

Bluejay Feather

 

18075234

Challenger Deep

Thoughts

I don’t really remember much about Caden’s father, but from what I remember he was alive and seemed to care for his son.

7027735

Dark Life

Thoughts

It’s been a long time since I read this (my freshmen year of high school to be exact), but I remember Ty’s parents being caring. Though, I think the other main character was an orphan.

7767952

Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings

Thoughts

The main character’s father seems like a pretty nice guy, even if it does get more than a little awkward at times as he tries to fulfill what would otherwise be the role of our protagonist’s mother.

12558285

Splintered

Thoughts

I don’t remember much about the father’s involvement in this first book, but he became very involved later in the series.

47613

Mister Monday (The Keys To the Kingdom #1)

Thoughts

Okay so, technically, the main character’s biological father is dead. However, Arther loves his adoptive family a lot, so I’m counting it. Also, I think I read this book in elementary school? I feel so old! (Hint, I’m not.)

1675216

Found (The Missing #1)

Thoughts

Okay, so this is another one where the main character is adopted, but the main character is close to his adoptive parents.

28763485

The Sun is also a Star

Thoughts

The parents in this book have major conflicts with the protagonists, but they aren’t horrible parents, either. The protagonists’ parents are also, most importantly,  not dead. Yes, this is seriously the best I can do. . . sorry.

13574417

Alienated (Alienated #1)

Thoughts

One of the protagonist doesn’t have parents, (he is an alien clone) but the other one has two very supportive ones.

28954189

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1)

Thoughts

Okay, this is another case where the parents are a major source of conflict for the protagonists. Hey, at least they’re not dead.

11762

White Noise

Thoughts

Okay, so I know nothing about this book. I asked my father what book he thought contained the best father figure he’d ever read. This is what he came up with. So, there you go.

Bluejay Feather

Wow, that was oddly depressing. I had to resort to a book I read in elementary school just to list ten books where the father wasn’t dead?

Who are your favorite literary fathers? Are all these real, live fictional dads hiding someplace beyond my notice? Can you name any other books where characters have fathers who aren’t dead and haven’t abandoned their children?

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “Novels With Real, Live Father Figures (i.e. Not dead ones)

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award – Lyndsey's Book Blog

  2. Lovely list, thank you for sharing this and going all the trouble to find some books with father figures, it is harder than it seems, right? 🙂 I only read the first book in the Splintered series, but I am intrigued now hearing the father has a much bigger role in the next books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree that fictional fathers who are not dead or absolutely horrible are hard to come by, but I have some to add to list of the living, decent variety!
    1. Arthur Weasley from Harry Potter (I know he is not the protagonist’s father but Ron is definitely one of the main characters, so it counts, right?)
    2. Mr. Geless from City of Orphans (He doesn’t do a whole lot, but he’s not horrible, and he cares about his family. Plus he’s alive.)
    3. Mr. Blake from Anything But Typical (Not much happens in this book, but Jason’s dad is living and a decent human being.)
    4. Mr. Horton from The Tiger Rising (Rob’s dad is grieving for his mom but he is still there, and he loves his son, so I give him credit for that.)
    I realize that all of my examples are Middle Grade books, but I guess I am kind of attached to those. Good father’s are hard to find anywhere!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the additional suggestions. I haven’t read the other novels, but Arthur Weasley is a good pick. I wasn’t even considering the fathers of secondary characters.

      I’d also like to say that I’ve thought of a lot more fathers right after I posted this, but by then it was too late. 🙂

      It makes sense a lot would be middle grade. Parents are so critical in that stage of life. It’s probably why so many of my examples are books I read a long time ago.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

