Beautiful People July 2017

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n201_zpsw3b8il6s

Beautiful People is a monthly writing meme hosted by Cait @Paper Fury and Sky @Further up and Further in in which writers answer questions about their characters. Except this month, in which we’re answering questions about our writing process instead.

Bluejay Feather

How do you decide which project to work on?

It depends. Whenever I get an idea I write it down and record it in a folder on my computer. I’ll let the ideas sit in that folder for a couple months. If I’m still excited about that idea after the time I leave it sitting in that file it’ll probably become at least a short story.

I decide which one to work on next by going through my list of ideas. I choose the one I’ve done the most research for or am most excited about in that moment.

How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

That depends. In someways none of my projects are technically done. I’m always going back and revising. Since none of my fiction is published, this has never really stopped.

In terms of first drafts of my novel length works, they usually take about three months or so. Revising takes much longer.

Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

Not really, no.

What time of day do you write best?

I write best in the morning, but rarely get to. Instead, I usually write at the end of the day as a reward for finishing everything else.

Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

I’m sure there are, but I don’t think I’d be the best judge of this fact. I’m too close to my work.

Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I’m not exactly sure when I started. I was slow to learn to read and write, but I’ve been telling myself stories for as long as I can remember. One day I started writing those stories down. I haven’t stopped since.

I keep writing because somewhere in the midst of writing to share stories, I came to love the words themselves.

What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

I’m not sure. All of my projects are difficult in different ways. The hardest thing to finish was my first novel length work. That was because I was so filled with doubt.

Part of me wondered if I was capable of finishing something that long. It was a huge step for me to learn I am capable of writing something novel length.

My longest project, a 90,000 word long epic fantasy manuscript, was also difficult because long novels take even more focus than the 60,000-ish word ones I usually write.

Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?

There is, but I feel I’m getting close. I’ve always wanted to write a novel from the perspective of an intelligent non-human being that lives in an aquatic environment. Seriously, I tried to write a story like this for the first time when I was about 12. That story was abandoned after the first page, but the idea of writing from the perspective of intelligent sea life has never left my mind.

Trouble is that it’s really difficult to write from the perspective of a being whose perception of the world is so different from humans. This is why I haven’t attempted this idea for so long.

What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

I was hoping to have something ready to send out to beta readers by the end of this year. This is looking unlikely, but not yet impossible. It’s something I’m working towards but hit a setback when I decided to abandon the epic fantasy project I mentioned earlier for my current one.

I came to the conclusion while revising my epic fantasy work in progress that I don’t think I can make it good enough that it’s worth people spending money on. If I’m going to make people pay to read something, I want it to feel it’s worth their time.

Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!

Writing is rewriting.

It’s cliche, but it’s true.

Bluejay Feather

Anything surprising about my writing process? Is anyone participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this month? Anyone have a similar process? 

Share your thoughts in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “Beautiful People July 2017

  1. I also use time to narrow down the stories I want to work on! If I don’t love the idea after leaving it for a long time, my thinking is that I shouldn’t spend my time on it. 🙂
    I’m participating in Camp NaNo, but I’m a little behind at the moment. XD Are you joining in?
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really relate to what you said about being filled with doubt while you were writing your first novel. That happens to me when I am uncertain of my work, (which, to be honest, is all the time). My doubt can be a huge impediment in my writing, and I am trying to push past it.
    I love words too! They are intoxicating. I love them almost as much as I love stories. I am continually mesmerized by how much emotion and thought can be portrayed using words. Give me a brick shaped volume or a thin slice of a book and I will be swept into other worlds and other minds simply by reading black marks on a white page. I want to be able to do that with my own words.
    This is a great post! Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you related! Yes, uncertainty can be a huge problem, but I think it’s only natural.

      Yes, so much goes into choosing the right words. They can be so beautiful when put together properly, and I am so envious of what some other writers can do with words because of it.

      Thanks so much! I hope to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

