2016 Reading Statistics

I loved making this post last year and seeing everything I read that year in visual form, so I decided to do the same for 2016. This will exclude most of the statistics already listed in Goodreads’ beautiful “My 2016 in Books” feature.

Age Groups

dxpeuca

In both 2016 and 2015 I read more young adult books than any other age groups, but the amount of books I’ve read in other age groups has grown a lot relative to last year.

Genres

fpi2qev

Like last year, the overwhelming majority of books I read were fantasy. I’m somewhat embarrassed that not one of the books I read in 2016 fit into the contemporary category (though one got very close).

Contemporary is far from my favorite genre, but I like to try to read at least a few books from it. Guess this means one of my reading goals for 2017 is to read at least one contemporary novel.

Where Books Take Place

qnebwd9

Like last year, I read more books taking place off of Earth than any one place on it. This year the portion of books seems to have grown enough that a little more than half of the books I read take place on Earth, unlike last year where I read more books taking place in fictional locations/in space than on Earth.

The portion of books I read in places outside of the US has also grown a little, though not by much. Like last year, most of the books taking place in a European setting took place in the UK. So many, I considered making it its own category both times, but ultimately decided against it.

Note that this chart doesn’t comment on the accuracy of how these places were portrayed, only that the book in question had at least one significant scene set in this location. This also means, therefore, that some books fall in multiple categories.

The book with no location is nonfiction.

Conclusions

I didn’t read as much in 2016 as I did the two years before. (I read 63 books in 2016, 73 books in 2015, and 77 books in 2014.) However, I’m okay with that.

I was much busier in 2016 than I was in 2015 and 2014. I wanted to still read a significant amount of books in 2016, but focus on reading what I wanted to read. I knew that otherwise I would never find the motivation to read. I feel I have succeeded in these goals.

Note: Charts made with onlinecharttool.com.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Comment below!

